HT&E CEO Ciaran Davis named the new chair of CRA

HT&E’s CEO and managing director, Ciaran Davis, has been appointed as the chair of the industry body Commercial Radio & Audio (CRA), as SCA CEO Grant Blackley steps down from the role.

Blackley has been in the position for four years since 2018; and despite stepping down, will remain on the CRA Board.

Ciaran Davis

Davis said he looked forward to beginning work as the new chair, expanding his role as a director on CRA’s Board since 2018.

“The role of radio is incredibly important to all Australians – no other medium delivers the engagement and connection with local communities that radio does.

“As chair of CRA I look forward to working collaboratively with the entire industry to further strengthen radio’s unique role in Australian media and to take a leading position in the emerging digital audio market,” he said.

As CEO and managing director of HT&E, Davis looks after the strategic and operational direction of ARN.

CRA chief executive officer Ford Ennals welcomed Davis to the new role and thanked outgoing chair Grant Blackley for his leadership.

“I’m confident that under Ciaran’s leadership the CRA Board will continue to take the successful development of the commercial radio and digital audio industry to the next stage.  His experience and expertise will be valuable in helping us to seize the wide range of audio opportunities in front of us,” Ennals said.

Blackley said: “I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the privilege of leading the CRA with my fellow directors in the pursuit of improving the contribution, value and understanding of the vital role radio and audio play in every community across Australia.

“The audio industry is not only resilient but importantly expanding at pace, evidenced by record listenership of live and on-demand content. The industry has recovered well from the economic impacts of COVID evidenced by 20 consecutive year-on-year months of growth.”

Company members had formally voted to change the CRA company name to “Commercial Radio & Audio” on its following its AGM.

Directors re-elected to the CRA Board were Peter Charlton (NOVA Entertainment), Michael Harvey (ARN), Tom Malone (Nine Radio), Rowly Paterson (ACE Radio) and Grant Blackley (SCA). They join Peter Colosimo (NOVA), Rachel Launders (Nine Radio), Tony Hudson (SCA) and Greg Cupitt (Super Radio Network) as well as Ciaran Davis who all retain their places on the CRA Board having not been required to be re-elected.

In addition, Rowly Paterson, the chairman and owner of ACE Radio was elected as vice chair of the CRA Board and regional vice chair.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.