Three trophies for Edelman at CommsCon Awards

CommsCon winners EdelmanPR agency Edelman came out on top at last night’s CommsCon Awards, picking up three trophies including Large PR agency of the Year.

Liquid Ideas boss Stuart Gregor was named PR leader of the year, while Klick Communications was named PR Employer of the Year

The awards, decided by a jury of 48 people, were presented at Doltone House Hyde Park in Sydney by SBS newscaster Lee Lin Chin.

While the night was dominated by PR agencies, Australia’s creative agencies also increased their showing including recognition for Leo Burnett Melbourne, The Monkeys, Bashful, GPY&R and Banjo Advertising.

The winners:    

Best social media or digitally-led campaign –

Winner: SPC: #SPCSunday – Leo Burnett Melbourne

HC: Save the Reef – GetUp 

B2C campaign –

Winner: IKEA – Mango with The Monkeys

HC: Opera Queensland: Project Puccini – Agency North

B2B campaign –

Winner: Mercer: Expectations vs Reality of Retirement in Australia. Launching a game changer – Mercer with Ogilvy PR (comprising Howorth and Ogilvy PR Melbourne)

HC: GE Capital: 2014 GE Capital Mid-Market Report Launch – Edelman 

Best use of research / insights –

Winner: Restaurant Australia – Tourism Australia

HC: Change2020 leadership in Australia – Agency North

Best campaign with a small budget –

Winner: Krispy Kreme: Perth Launch – F4WARD Agency

HC: SPC: #SPCSunday – Leo Burnett Melbourne

Best use of owned media –

Winner: General Pants – Bashful

Internal communications / change management –

Winner: Westpac Customer inFOCUS Program – Zadro

Best Issues management –

Winner: Danone Nutricia – Weber Shandwick

HC: Adelaide Zoo – PPR

Launch or relaunch campaign of the year –

Winner: Grill’d: Low Carb Super Bun Burger – Magnum PR


PR-led event or activation of the year –

Winner: Best&Less: The LAB Experiment – Edelman with Best & Less and Banjo Advertising

Best government relations campaign –

Winner: CWW: Gender reporting is not ‘red tape’ – Callidus PR with Coalition for Working Women (CWW)

Best government sponsored campaign –

Winner: TAFE NSW: Western Sydney Institute – Sefiani Communications Group with TAFE NSW, Western Sydney Institute

Best investor or community relations campaign –

Winner: Tradies National Health Awareness Month – Australian Physiotherapy Association

Corporate social responsibility –

Winner: Samsung Adappt – Edelman

Pro bono campaign of the year –

Winner: Australian Red Cross: Embers of Empathy – Burson-Marsteller with GPY&R




Best new PR talent of the year –

Winner: Tim Verguizas – Res Publica

PR Leader of the year –

Winner: Stuart Gregor – Liquid Ideas

HC: Claire Salvetti – Mango

PR professional or team of the year (inhouse) –

Winner: Sophie Baker – Hamilton Island

HC: Irene Saunders – Barnardos Australia


PR professional of the year (agency) –

Winner: Mandy Griffiths – Porter Novelli


Social media community manager of the year –

Winner: Victoria Bowness – Klick Communications




PR employer of the Year –

Winner: Klick Communications

Boutique or small PR agency of the year –

Winner: F4WARD Agency

HC: Bench PR 

Midsize PR agency of the year –

Winner: Sauce Communications

HC: Magnum PR 

Large PR agency of the year –

Winner: Edelman

HC: One Green Bean



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing