Young Lions finalists revealed

The finalists to represent Australia in this year’s Cannes Young Lions have been announced.

The competitors were given a brief by sponsor News Limited to outline the strength of the company’s multi-platform sport offering following the acquisition of Fox Sports.

The next stage will see finalists in marketing, media, film, print and digital compete in a 24-hour brief, with finalists from the film category completing a 48-hour brief.

The judging panel is being chaired by Mat Baxter, CEO of UM. He said: “The quality of thinking and creativity was extremely impressive. The jury was spoilt for choice in selecting the finalists, and with so many strong entries this year is going to be tightest competition in a long time.”

The second round of judging is on May 14 with winners announced on May 16.

Winners get a trip to the Cannes conference in June.

The finalists are:


  • Scott Zuliani and Annatara Clark-Sneddon, Badjar Ogilvy
  • Josephine Burns and Corey Silva, Junior
  • Alistair Geikie and Paul Gregson, M&C Saatchi
  • Gavin Chimes and Luke Chard, Droga 5
  • Mark Carbone and James Beswick, BMF
  • Claire Austin and Emlyn Allen, Lavender
  • Chris Hanrahan and Alexandra Hickmott, BWM Melbourne
  • Delia Mennell and Jon-Alexander Gunawan, Ursa Clemenger
  • Jess Povey and Peter Defries, Sapient Nitro
  •  Jim Curtis and Ryan Fitzgerald, DDB Sydney
  • Jordan Davies and Alex Massey, Lavender
  • Josie Fox and Sara Oteri, Cummins Ross


  • Daniel Grech and Jordy Molloy, DDB Melbourne
  • Simon Gibson and Emily Lynch, Clemenger BBDO
  • Gavin Chimes and Luke Chard, Droga 5
  • Mietta McFarlane and Peter Renigeris, Droga 5 & M&C Saatchi
  • Omid Amidi and Michael Ashton, DDB Sydney
  • Giles Clayton and Simon Hayes, Clemenger BBDO


  • Liam Riddler and Alex Bolderoff, 303 Lowe
  • Adam Stone and Long Truong, We are Social & JWT
  • Sam Dickson and Angelito Lawang, Big Red
  • Jack Emery and Zoe Yeoman, Big Red
  • Maggie Ryan and Helen Neville, DDB Melbourne
  • Kae Yen Wong and Rodolfo Nogueira Sarno, Host & MercerBell
  • Adrian Wong and Alex Schieder, Reborn & Leo Burnett
  • Bec McCall and Cam McMillan, Clemenger BBDO

Media – NSW

  • Rebecca Alexander, Match Media
  • John Corpuz, Match Media
  • Paul Den, UM
  • Mitchell Long, PHD
  • Jack Graham, MEC
  • Annika Hansen, Bohemia Group
  • Robert Bellamy, UM
  • Kristine Ballensky, UM
  • John Dawson, Mindshare
  • Jason Maggs, Mindshare

Media – VIC

  • Tania De Fazio, UM
  • Frank Curcio, UM
  • Daniel Hojnik, UM
  • Dean Schwal, OMD
  • Jennifer Carroll, OMD
  • David Toussaint, Mediacom
  • Bianca Wallis, Starcom Mediavest Group
  • Amy Denyer, Mediacom

Media – WA

  • Dayna Watkins, Initiative
  • Caitlin MacDonald, The Brand Agency

Media – QLD

  • Annabelle Rogers, OMD
  • Nelson Demartini, UM
  • Lachlan Kent, UM
  • Hannah Macauslane, UM


  • Natasha Trindall, Cellarmasters Wine
  • Maeve Heim, L’Oreal Australia
  • Laura Bindon, AMP Capital
  • Tim Seow, Royal Automotive Club of Victoria (RACV)

Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.