Australian Young Lions competition sees 84 entrants reach next round

The first round of Australia’s Young Lions competition, part of the Cannes Lions International Advertising Festival, has completed with 84 Australian advertising and media agency entrants through to the next round.  

The next round will see teams compete in a challenge to answer a brief within 24 hours.

The competition, which awards the best young advertising and media talents in the country, will see three winning teams representing Australia at the worldwide Young Lions competition in Cannes.

News Ltd, Cannes Lions’ official Australian representative, this year changed the rules of its local competition, with a first and second round format across the media, print and cyber categories.

The three winning teams representing Australia will be announced at an event to be held on May 20.

Full list of finalists:

NSW Media Finalists

  • Maura Tuohy, UM
  • Eb Yusuf, OMD
  • Pia Coyle, UM
  • Sam Geer, MediaCom
  • Chanelle Flavell, Mitchell & Partners
  • Jacquie Pierson, OMD

WA Media Finalists

  • Geoff Mann, Stockland
  • Lana Nelligan, Maxus Perth
  • Taryn Payne, The Brand Agency

VIC Media Finalists

  • Adam Pinto, Mindshare
  • Eridani Baker, UM
  • Kristyn Heywood, UM
  • Tom Slattery, OMD
  • Samantha Susa, MediaCom

QLD Media Finalists

  • Annabelle Rogers, OMD
  • Hannah Rowe, ZenithOptimedia

Print Shortlisted teams

  • Sharon Condy and Josh Murrell, CHE Melbourne
  • Simon Hipgrave and Emlyn Allen, Junior
  • Georgina Seccuill and Amelia Birrell, Whybin/TBWA
  • Andrew Slattery and Amy Weston, Clemenger BBDO
  • James Orr and Elle Bullen, Leo Burnett
  • Nathan Kent, Leo Burnett and Tim Seow, Marmalade
  • Ryan Albuino and Andrew Chu, Marketforce
  • Daniel Barrett and Matthew Ennis, BWM
  • Nadia Ahmad and Anna O’Donoughue, Freelance
  • Kieryn Humphries and Lisa Dupre, SapientNitro
  • Manuela Ortiz and Nic Maumill, Showpony Advertising
  • Stefanie DiGianvincenzo and Danile Grech, Cubed Communications
  • Patrycja Lukjanow, M&C Saatchi and James Blow, JWT
  • Ferry Lie and Levin Han, Pepper Crane Productions
  • Paul Spelman and John-henry Pajak, Leo Burnett
  • Archana Murugaser and Chloe Banicevic, DDB
  • Rob Kleckner and Dan Oliva, Leo Burnett
  • Simone Louis and Rebecca Alperstein, Three Drunk Monkeys
  • Joshua Braithwaite and Sebastian Vizor, Clemenger BBDO
  • Michael Harris and Fabian Hupfauf, M&C Saatchi
  • Jim Curtis and Erwin Santoso, DDB
  • Ben Clare and Steven Iannello, JWT
  • Paul Coghlan and Julia Kreisz, Meerkats
  • Luke Chard and Henry Azzi, Ogilvy
  • Leo Barbosa and David Roberts, US

Cyber Shortlisted teams

  • Gene Brutty and Timothy Seddon, Longtail
  • Brett Walsh, Pusher and Natalie Dummigan, Freelance
  • James De Angelis and Jeffrey Mok, Whybin/TBWA/Tequila
  • Joao Lopes, The Campaign Palace and Karen Ferry, Tribal DDB
  • David Weir and Alice Le, Soap Creative
  • Joshua Braithwaite and Sebastian Vizor, Clemenger BBDO
  • Chen-Huan Wang and David Mugford, Leo Burnett
  • Giles Watson and Jessica Povey, McCann Erickson
  • Nicholas Kelly and Calvin Teoh, Clemenger BBDO

Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.