Deadly nominations announced

Nominations for the 2011 Deadly Awards have been announced, including nominations for best film, TV show, and best male and female actors.

The Deadly’s, now in their 17th year, are Australia’s leading Indigenous awards for achievements in the performance arts, sport and community.

In the Film category; Mad Bastards, Toomelah, Here I Am, Shifting Shelter 4 and  Jandamarra’s War are nominated, while in the TV category; On the Edge (NITV), Living Black (SBS), Marngrook Footy Show (NITV & ABC), The Barefoot Rugby League Show (NITV) and Yamba’s Playtime (Imparja Television) are nominated.

In the female actor of the year category, the nominees are: Rarriwuy Hick for Wrong Skin (play), Deborah Mailman for Offspring, and three entries from Here I Am; Marcia Langton, Pauline Whyman and Shai Pittman.

In the male actor of the year category, the nominees are: Aaron Fa’Aoso for East West 101, Jack Charles for Jack Charles v The Crown, Aaron Pedersen for City Homicide, Dean Daley-Jones for Mad Bastards and Richard Green for Snowtown.

The Deadlys will be held at the Sydney Opera House on 27 September 2011. Voting is now open to all for the 2011 Deadlys at


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.