Finalists revealed for Mumbrella neXt Awards

The Mumbrella neXt Awards shortlist has been revealed, unveiling the top up-and-coming talent across the media, marketing and advertising industries.

Across 13 categories including Specialist Agency Talent, Marketers, Content Marketers, Video Production and more, the Mumbrella neXt Awards will recognise professionals who have been in the industry for 10 years or less.

The Mumbrella neXt Awards will take place on December 10

This year, Southern Cross Austereo managed five shortlisted entrants across Commercial Talent, Event Talent and Video Producers. Meanwhile, George P Johnson saw four of its employees shortlisted across Creative Agency Talent, Events Talent and Business Administration and Support.

The winners will be revealed at the Mumbrella neXt Awards ceremony on December 10 in Sydney, which will also be attended by some of the industry’s top CMOs, CEOs and thought-leaders who made up the jury.

Hosting this year’s awards ceremony is the former Triple j breakfast team Ben and Liam. The duo, who are now set to front breakfast in Adelaide for Nova’s 91.9, will lead the awards ceremony with a short segment prior to the proceedings.

For the first time, Mumbrella neXt will also run as a half day conference prior to the awards ceremony. The conference is dedicated to the development, growth and investment in the next stars of the media and marketing industry.

Speakers at the inaugural conference include CHE Proximity’s CEO, Chris Howatson; Coles Group’s CMO, Lisa Ronson; Nova Entertainment’s CEO, Cathy O’Connor; Eleven PR and TBWA’s group creative director, Russ Tucker, and more.

Plus, ticket holders will learn skills to enhance presentation skills; how to create a good idea; key points on what makes a successful leader and insight on how to get there; comprehend emotional intelligence, what it is and why it matters; and gain basic knowledge and understanding of neuroscience-based ‘Hermann Brain Dominance Instrument’(HBDI)®, a registered quantitative psychometric self -awareness tool which enables ‘Whole brain thinking’.

Tickets, the program and more information can be found here.

The shortlist:

Creative Agency Talent

  • Isaac Anthony Lai – VMLY&R
  • Isabella Rigg – VIRTUE
  • Jessica Quiney – George P. Johnson
  • Lauren Hartwell – isobar
  • Tegan Wotton – Space Between

PR Talent

  • Emma David – WE Communications
  • Olivia van Dalsen – Elevate Communication
  • Rachel King – 360 PR
  • Scott Bidmead – Mead Media
  • Stacey Moseley – Loan Market Group

Media Agency Talent

  • Eve Marie Burgess – Alchemy One
  • Jack Graham – UM
  • James Graff – Woolworths@Dentsu
  • Marissa Taylor – Spark Foundry
  • Michael Wretham – Match & Wood

Specialist Agency Talent

  • Ayesha Kiely – MediaCom
  • James Legge – GHO
  • Kate Portelli – Apparent
  • Patrick Millington Buck – Havas Sports & Entertainment
  • Stephanie Winkler – VICE / VIRTUE

Events Talent

  • Chloe Wilkinson – Southern Cross Austereo
  • Jenni Hayward – UnLtd
  • Jessica O’Connell – George P Johnson Australia and New Zealand
  • Megan Abela – George P Johnson Australia
  • Mieke Bosschieter Reeman – Fourth Wall

Entrepreneurial Talent

  • Dave Granfield – BidPixel Advertising
  • Detch Singh – Hypetap
  • Genevieve Day – Day Management
  • Matt Travers – Sunny Digital
  • Robert Tadros – Impressive
  • Sarah Mak – TheStoryBoxes

Business Administration and Support

  • Alex Delehunt – Publicis Groupe
  • Faith Lamont – Coles Group
  • Julia Eppingstall – News Corporation Australia
  • Peter Egan – George P Johnson (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • Scott Laird – Initiative Media

Marketing Technology Talent

  • Daniel Koublachvili – 1000heads
  • Emmalee Fagerstrom – Verizon Media
  • Ivan Giang – PubMatic
  • Rachel Dam – PubMatic
  • Tyler Swartz – MediaMath

Commercial Talent

  • Carla Mathisen – Southern Cross Austereo
  • Lachlan Roach – Foxtel Media
  • Peter Lang – Southern Cross Austereo
  • Sally Cartmell – Southern Cross Austereo
  • Tyler Swartz – MediaMath


  • Anna Maree Rallos – IAG
  • Chloe Hooper – PHD
  • Steph Gray – Spotify
  • Thanh Nguyen – eBay Australia & New Zealand

Community Managers

  • Charlotte Martin – MediaCom
  • Emily George – Yahoo Australia, Verizon Media
  • Lorna Moffatt – Spark Foundry

Video Producers

  • Briony Benjamin – Social Parade/ Mamamia
  • Jason Dundas – Dundas Media
  • Michael Parente – Southern Cross Austereo
  • Nicholas Mutton – Mint Films
  • Sophie Rose Saville – The Story Mill

Content Marketers

  • Charlotte Goodwin – Filtered Media
  • James Healey – Leo Burnett, Sydney
  • Jessica Dickers – Monkey Media
  • Louise Morrisey – Hotwire

Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.