The Australian’s Bowraville investigation becomes first podcast to win a Walkley

The Australian’s investigation into the murders of three Aboriginal children in the NSW town of Bowraville has become the first podcast to win a Walkley Award.

Last night saw the News Corp publication’s Bowraville series win both the audio category and the indigenous affairs category of The Walkley Awards, which are seen as Australia’s most coveted journalism awards.

australian-bowravilleThe victory ends a five year unbroken run of the ABC winning in the audio documentary category. It is also the first time that any podcast has won in the category since it was expanded to Radio/Audio Documentary, Feature, Podcast or Special in 2013.

The Bowraville investigation was also recognised at last year’s Publish Awards, organised by Mumbrella.

Other highlights of the ceremony, which took place in Brisbane, included recognition for the late Rebecca Wilson, with a posthumous accolade in the Journalistic Leadership category.

And the Gold Walkley went to photojournalist Andrew Quilty for his work in Afghanistan.

News Corp and the ABC both won eight trophies. Fairfax Media picked up six .

The winners:

Print/Text News Report
Grant McArthur, Herald Sun, “Bacchus Marsh Baby Deaths”

Social Equity Journalism
Ben Schneiders, Royce Millar and Nick Toscano, The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Canberra Times, Fairfax Media, “Sold Out: Australia’s biggest wages scandal”

Multimedia Storytelling
SBS Online Team, SBS Australia, “My Grandmother’s Lingo”

Nikon-Walkley Photo of the Year
Andrew Quilty, Foreign Policy, “The Man on the Operating Table”

Headline Journalism
Matthew Quagliotto, The Daily Telegraph, “Thirst Degree Murder”, “Law & Snorter”, “Tyred & Demotional”

Coverage of Indigenous Affairs
Dan Box, Eric George and Stephen Fitzpatrick, The Australian, “Bowraville”

Coverage of Community and Regional Affairs
Newcastle Herald Staff Reporters, Newcastle Herald, “The Foam and the Fury”

Sports Journalism
Adrian Proszenko, The Sydney Morning Herald, “Parramatta Eels salary cap scandal”

Sport Photography
Cameron Spencer, Getty Images, “The Defining Moment”

Radio/Audio News and Current Affairs
Sophie McNeill and Fouad Abu Gosh, PM and AM, ABC Radio, “Voices from Besieged Syria”

Radio/Audio Documentary, Feature, Podcast or Special
Dan Box and Eric George, The Australian, “Bowraville Podcast”

Print/Text Feature Writing Long (Over 4000 Words)
Jess Hill, The Monthly, “Suffer the Children: Trouble in the Family Court”

Scoop of the Year
Nick Tabakoff, The Daily Telegraph, “The Parramatta Eels NRL scandal”

Mark Knight, Herald Sun, “Subway”, “Census night in the Senate”, “Reg Grundy RIP”

David Rowe, The Australian Financial Review and The Sun Herald, “New clothes”, “Malcolm X and Ali”, “White ribbon”

Coverage of a Major News Event or Issue
Sky News Team, Sky News, “2016 Election Coverage”

Print/Text Feature Writing Short (Under 4000 Words)
Ben Doherty, Guardian Australia, “Crushed by the unblinking regime: the life and tragic death of Fazel Chegeni”

Nikon-Walkley News Photography
Andrew Quilty, Foreign Policy, “The Man on The Operating Table”

Business Journalism
Adele Ferguson, Klaus Toft and Mario Christodoulou, Fairfax Newspapers and ABC TV Four Corners, “Money For Nothing

Nikon-Walkley Feature/Photographic Essay
David Maurice Smith, Guardian Australia, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Globe and Mail and Mother Jones Magazine, “Refugee Crisis in the Balkans”

International Journalism
Sophie McNeill, Aaron Hollett, Mark Corcoran and Matt Walker, Foreign Correspondent, ABC TV, “Yemen: The War on Children”

Andy Taylor, 60 Minutes, Nine Network, “Predator”

TV/AV News Reporting
Chris O’Keefe, Nine News, Nine Network, “Bankstown Hospital”

TV/AV Daily Current Affairs
Anne Connolly, Suzanne Smith and Lesley Robinson, 7.30, ABC TV, “Anglican Church Paedophile Ring”

TV/AV Weekly Current Affairs
Linton Besser, Louie Eroglu, Jaya Balendra and Elise Worthington, Four Corners, ABC TV, “State of Fear”

Investigative Journalism
Adele Ferguson, Klaus Toft and Mario Christodoulou, Fairfax Newspapers and ABC TV Four Corners, “Money For Nothing”

Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Four Corners, ABC TV, “Jackson and Lawler”

Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique
Greg Jericho, Guardian Australia, “Politics, the planet and the personal”

Walkley Documentary Award
Sarah Ferguson, Nial Fulton and Ivan O’Mahoney, In Films and ABC TV, Hitting Home

Walkley Book Award
Stan Grant, Talking to My Country, HarperCollins Publishers

Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the Year
Alex Coppel, Herald Sun

Journalistic Leadership
Rebecca Wilson

Outstanding Contribution to Journalism
Bruce Petty

Gold Walkley
Andrew Quilty, Foreign Policy, “The Man on the Operating Table”


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.